7 Stages of Testing Life Cycle

TestFortExpert by TestFortExpert on 11/18/2022

7 Stages of Testing Life Cycle

Being an integral part of software development process, testing is carried out to ensure that the developed software works well with meeting all user’s requirements and needs. There are a lot of methods of testing which may vary greatly depending on the specific features of the software and the development process.

As any other complex process, software testing consists of different test stages, and each of them is represented by a specific range of activities. Unlike the types of testing or methodologies, its stages remain quite the same for any project and include 7 activities.

So what are the typical stages of testing life cycle? Let’s look at the different stages of testing in detail.

Testing Stage 1 – Test Plan

Software testing should always begin with establishing a well-thought-out test plan to ensure an efficient execution of the entire testing process. An efficient test plan must include clauses concerning the amount of work to be done, deadlines and milestones to be met, methods of testing, and other formalities like contingencies and risks.

Testing Stage 2 – Analysis

At this stage, a functional validation matrix is made. The in-house or outsourced testing team analyzes the requirements and test cases that are to be automated and which one need to be tested manually. Like all other different stages of testing, this one has a crucial effect on the outcome of the project and therefore needs a lot of attention.

Testing Stage 3 – Design

If the testing team has reached this stage, it means that there is no confusion or misunderstanding concerning the test plan, validation matrix, or test cases. At the Designing step of the software testing stages, the testing team makes suitable scripts for automated test cases and generates test data for both automated and manual test cases.

Testing Stage 4  – Development

At this stage, scripting is provided. In particular cases, development stage also includes unit tests and generating of performance and stress test plans. Usually it happens when testing starts together with the software development process.

Testing Stage 5 – Execution

As soon as the entire scripting has been made, its execution begins. First, the testing team executes unit tests, and then functionality tests. They identify bugs on the superficial level and report them to the software developers. After that, detailed testing is carried out. The execution part of the test stages is completed when test and bug reports are made up.

Testing Stage 6 – Bug fixing

When the testing team identifies the bugs, they send it to development team. If the development team considers fixing the bugs, the testing team has to retest the software in order to check that no new bugs have been created while fixing using, among other things, regression testing.

Testing Stage 7 – Software is implemented

This is the final one of the testing stages and takes place all test cases are executed and all procedures are carried out. The software is delivered to the end user who tests it and reports if any bugs take place.

To sum up

The stages of the software testing life cycle, also known as software testing stages, are one of the first things a prospective QA engineer learns when mastering the craft of testing. These testing stages are universally applicable and compatible with nearly every project methodology and scope. That is why this is essential knowledge for anyone related to the software development and testing process, whether a developer, QA engineer, project manager, or business owner.

hire a team

Hire a team

Let us assemble a dream team of QA specialists just for you. Our model allows you to maximize the efficiency of your team.

Request Specialists

We Work With

Having one outside team deal with every aspect of quality assurance on your software project saves you time and money on creating an in-house QA department. We have dedicated testing engineers with years of experience, and here is what they can help you with.

Software is everywhere around us, and it’s essential for your testing team to be familiar with all the various types and platforms software can come with. In 21+ years, our QA team has tested every type of software there is, and here are some of their specialties.

There are dozens of different types of testing, but it takes a team of experts to know which ones are relevant to your software project and how to include them in the testing strategy the right way. These are just some of the testing types our QA engineers excel in.

The success of a software project depends, among other things, on whether it’s the right fit for the industry it’s in. And that is true not just for the development stage, but also for QA. Different industry have different software requirements, and our team knows all about them.

Icon Manual Testing

Maximum precision and attention to detail for a spotless result.

Icon Testing Automation

We’ll automate thousands of tests for all-encompassing coverage.

Icon Testing Outsourcing

Outsource your testing needs to a team of experts with relevant skills.

Icon Testing Consulting

Overhaul your QA processes to achieve even more testing efficiency.

Icon QA

Thorough Quality Assurance for a project of any scale or complexity.

Icon API Testing

Verify the correct operation of as many APIs as your project needs.

Icon IoT Testing

Stay ahead of the growing Internet of Things market with timely testing.

Icon Web App Testing

Reach out to even more customers with a high-quality web application.

Icon Mobile App Testing

Help users fall in love with your mobile app with our texting expertise.


Make sure your CRM/ERP system meets the needs of the stakeholders.

Icon Desktop Application Testing

We’ll check the stability, compatibility, and more of your desktop solution.

Icon Functional Testing

Is your app doing everything it’s supposed to? We’ll help you find out!

Icon Compatibility

Check how your solution works on different devices, platforms, and more.

Icon Usability

Find out if your software solution provides an engaging user experience.

Icon UI

Make sure your application’s UI logic works for all categories of users.

Icon Regression

We’ll verify the integrity of your application after recent code changes.

Icon Online Streaming & Entertainment

Stay on top of the media industry with a technically flawless solution.

Icon eCommerce & Retail

Does your store meet customer needs? We’ll help you know for sure!

Icon HR & Recruiting

Streamline HR processes with a solution that works like a clock

Icon Healthcare

Test the functionality, stability, scalability of your app and more.

Icon Fintech & Banking

Give your users what they want: a powerful, secure fintech product.

We use cookies to ensure your best experience. By continuing to browse this site, you accept the use of cookies and "third-party" cookies. For more information or to refuse consent to some cookies, please see our Privacy Policy and Cookie Policy